a game designer or a hardcore gamer

Discuss your favorite war-based hat simulator.

a game designer or a hardcore gamer

by twinkle » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:02 am

Why do people hate video games? I never really understood this. I always see people hate video games for a variety of reasons but none says anything bad about watching movies. Apparently I am praised if I want to be a movie or film maker but I am frowned upon if I am a game designer or a hardcore gamer. When will video games be accepted as another form of entertainment in the near future?
Last edited by twinkle on Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
twinkle

Re: a game designer or a hardcore gamer

by Ron Swansons Stache » Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:28 am

twinkle wrote:Why do people hate video games? I never really understood this. I always see people hate video games for a variety of reasons but none says anything bad about watching movies. Apparently I am praised if I want to be a movie or film maker but I am frowned upon if I am a game designer or a hardcore gamer. When will video games be accepted as another form of entertainment in the near future?

There has always been a stigma against video games, for whatever reason. Like, if I go and play TF2 for two hours that's weird and nerdy but if someone else goes and watches Housewives of New York for two hours that's perfectly acceptable. Honestly at this point I doubt anything changes. There are exceptions to the rule, weirdly enough, like Call of Duty or say a sports game like Madden. Those are 'cool' video games to play. It's a very weird culture overall.
YOU JUST GOT BUTT CHUNDERED!
Ron Swansons Stache
Blue Admin

Re: a game designer or a hardcore gamer

by Maringue » Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:57 pm

There is the basic underlying assumption (which is wrong) that video games are somehow bad for you. And somehow it's even believed that video games are worse for you than other "screen time".