Stories from work

Talk about random stuff that has nothing to do with TF2 or other games.

Stories from work

by Hooked » Fri May 06, 2016 8:28 pm

Earlier on the server I brought up the fact that I work as a video editor. I mostly work on commercials for local businesses, such as car commercials, as well as some longer-form commercial stuff. For trade shows and the like. Anyways, it made me want to share a few stories involving a couple of the people I work with.

Being a small-ish city, most of our advertising agencies don't have in-house video production studios. As a result a lot of video work is contracted out to us. So we end up not only dealing with the end client but people from the agency as well.

One of the agency heads is this old, misogynistic asshole that is stuck in the 80s. He think he's a mad-men style advertising genius, but in reality he still thinks jingles are cool. (They're not, sorry) He likes to yell at people for making mistakes but hardly ever takes responsibility for his own actions, which more often than not are the root cause of most of the problems. He once asked me if I was on drugs because I made a single spelling mistake.

My favorite story involving this guy is this one day he came in for a video shoot - we have our own small green-screen studio. But he makes it a point to walk into my editing suite and tell me "You know, I have a doll that looks just like you..." Confused more than anything, I just say I don't know what he's talking about. But apparently I had cut him off because he continues on with "And every evening I stab it with needles." Luckily our office manager came in to ask me a question and he walks off so I don't have to give him any sort of reply. But man. Who says that kind of thing?

---------------------------------------------------------